trivium-cover-02Trivium is back and we needed something amped with all guns blazing after 2011’s “In Waves”. Their 6th studio album, “Vengeance Falls” did not fail to produce the goods, living up to their Heavy Metal / Metalcore defining sound. There are a couple of significant changes that alters the final result of their new album. Matt Heafy’s aggressive death metal vocals make way for an impressive clean melodic approach throughout the album. Heafy still delivers his usual high charged vocals, however this time round he also impresses with a better vocal range.

“Disturbed” frontman and lead vocalist David Draiman, served as a producer on their new album via Roadrunner Records. Draiman’s vocal influence stands out on track 10 “Wake (The End Is Nigh),” with Heafy taking on lower notes at the begging of the song with excellent execution.



Don’t forget to buy tickets to see Trivium live at RAMfest 2014

The album kicks off with “Brave This Storm,” followed by “Vengeance Falls” and “Strife” (released as a single on August 20th). “Brave This Storm” and “Strife” set the tone for the rest of the album with heavy riffing and outstanding vocals towering over double bass drums. Title track, “Vengeance Falls” chugs along for a while until the canon is unleashed nearing the end of the track. I expected a little more considering it’s the flagship of the album. Even though the rest of the album doesn’t live up to the aforementioned anthems, the overall experience is still energized and fueled with Trivium’s anthemic flavor.

Frontman Matt Heafy

Frontman Matt Heafy

Highlight tracks:  “Brave This Storm,” “Strife,” “At The End Of This War,” “Through Blood And Dirt And Bone,” “Villainy Thrives,” and “Wake”


Heafy spoke to back in September saying  “I feel it (“Vengeance Falls”) does encompass (what) Trivium fans have loved over the years through our first five records.” Living up to Heafy’s statement, “Vengeance Falls” really shines with elements of their previous work while keeping a firm hand on producing something that will please the fans. Draiman also sat down with, saying “I wanted to see these guys take what they had done and become the Metallica of this generation and truly be the band I feel Trivium deserves to be.”

In all honesty, I don’t think they have reached new heights with “Vengeance Falls”, however they have released a solid album reclaiming their status as one of the best Metalcore bands in the world. Go ahead and indulge in the blistering shred-fests, frantic riffing and double bass drums smudged with a Metalcore finish. We will be following Trivium closely to see if they can achieve what seems the impossible, becoming “the Metallica of this generation”.


Please remember to submit your rating!


Track List

iTunesBuyNowamazon buy now

No. Title Length
1 “Brave This Storm” 04:29
2 “Vengeance Falls” 04:13
3 “Strife” 04:29
4 “No Way to Heal” 04:05
5 “To Believe” 04:32
6 “At the End of This War” 04:47
7 “Through Blood and Dirt and Bone” 04:26
8 “Villainy Thrives” 04:54
9 “Incineration: The Broken World” 05:52
10 “Wake (The End Is Nigh)” 06:00