– (BAFTA) Game Awards –

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts prizes, started in 2003, are among the few awards for achievements in the gaming industry that is estimated to have trebled in size in the past decade with consultancy DFC Intelligence valuing the industry at $78.5 billion.

“Dishonored” crowned best video game at UK ceremony, beating big budget rivals to take home five awards at the British Academy of Film and Television Arts.





Also nominated for that award were:

  • Far Cry 3
  • FIFA 13
  • Mass Effect 3
  • The Walking Dead

But “Journey”, by independent U.S. developer Thatgamecompany in which players travel from a sprawling desert to find secrets of a forgotten civilization, went home with most prizes, winning five awards after being nominated in eight of 17 categories.

“Journey”, the third game from Thatgamecompany following “Flow” and “Flower”, won awards for:

  • Artistic Achievement
  • Audio Achievement
  • Game Design
  • Online Multiplayer 
  • Original Music

Two awards were won by both survival horror game “The Walking Dead” and “The Unfinished Swan”, a game developed by Giant Sparrow and published by Sony.

The inaugural award for a British Game went to “The Room”, a puzzle adventure from developers Fireproof Games, which the jury described as “an engaging, enigmatic, beautiful, slow burn”.

Main winners of 2013:

Best game:

Debut game:
The Unfinished Swan

British game:
The Room

Game design:

Danny Wallace (The Narrator) – Thomas Was Alone

The Walking Dead

LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes

Far Cry 3

New Star Soccer

Game innovation:
The Unfinished Swan